Hey hey hey: Redskins should sit on Haynesworth deal.

Albert Haynesworth released a statement about his ongoing situation with the Washington franchise through his agent late Tuesday night. CSN Washington posted the statement at 9:45 p.m.:

“The Washington Redskins are a great and storied franchise with an owner in Mr. Snyder that will do anything in his power to win and a fan base that is unrivaled in the NFL. When I signed here after meeting all day with the staff and top executives, and talked about the defense that we would run and what my role would be, I was assured I would have the freedom to play to my strengths and I was excited about the future. After many years in the NFL, I know what it takes for me to perform at my highest level. My number one goal has always been to help my team win -period. It’s also important at my position to help free my teammates to make plays, which I’ve done throughout my career when I’ve been allowed to play to my strengths. I will continue to work individually to prepare for training camp and the start of the 2010 season.”

First off, I think Haynesworth needs to remember exactly when he signed his contract. He could not have spent “all day” meeting with team personnel because he signed his contract at approximately 5 a.m. If they had met all day, the Redskins would have actually gotten in trouble from the tampering probe the NFL conducted last season.

Second, it’s obvious what a nuisance Haynesworth has been since that monster $100 million contact, it comes as no surprise to me that he would be asking for a contract. After such a difficult and frustrating year, where on most plays he was actively involved in he had to be carted off, Haynesworth is trying to take the easy way out. I’m sure he’s fine with that, especially with $41 guaranteed on his contract. I’m sure life was so easy for the big man last year under the relaxed atmosphere Jim Zorn, while the new coaching staff is asking a lot more of him.

In reference to objections to the new 3-4 scheme, this is where Haynesworth has no leverage and is downright misinformed about the player-coach relationship. I didn’t think it needed to be said but the coaches make the scheme and call the plays, the players are ones that carry out the coaches plan.

If Haynesworth wants to whine, let him. But if he wants a trade, just say no. The best thing the franchise can do at this point is fine him. Fine him a lot. It’s pathetic when professional players act like this, especially after one underwhelming season on the field for the big man. I have more sympathy when players with long-term contracts ask for a trade in the second half of the contract’s life, but asking for a trade after one season of a seven year deal, well that’s just ridiculous.

The best trade possibility would be a fourth or fifth round pick in the draft, and that’s a big if because not many teams will be in the market for such a large contract. So my suggestion to the Redskins is to sit on the contract and fine Haynesworth as much as possible. He will soon learn that if he ever wants to get paid again, he’ll need to perform on the field and the only way to do that, is to play for the Redskins.

3 Comments

Filed under Washington Redskins

3 responses to “Hey hey hey: Redskins should sit on Haynesworth deal.

  1. Robert Brown

    Haynesworth = whining pussy

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Hey hey hey: Redskins should sit on Haynesworth deal. « DMV Sports -- Topsy.com

  3. I agree with that statement 100%. He has no reason to hold out. Saying he doesn’t fit into the scheme isn’t a reason to hold out or ask for a trade. He must feel entitled because he has such a large contract, but he should realize he doesn’t have many options with that contract.

Leave a Reply

